We feel extremely blessed that we have never had any type of emergency in our home. We've never had to drop everything and head to the ER, Instacare, or our pediatrician. Well that all changed last week. I was home with the girls while Brayden was at preschool. Brynlee was on the floor having her tummy time (which she LOVES) while I was opening the mail in the kitchen about 10 ft away. Next thing I knew Brynlee was screaming, which is very rare for her. As soon as I turned around I knew exactly what happened. You see, Brooklyn loves to help out and mimick what I do. I am always flipping Brynlee over to her back, so naturally she tries to do the same. I've caught her a few times as she is rolling Brynlee over. The problem is that Brynlee's arm gets stuck and twisted while she attempts to do so. Each time I try to teach Brooklyn that she shouldn't try to roll her over...only mom does it. Well, this time she succeeded. I picked up Bryn and knew something was hurting. I tried for about 45 minutes to get her to calm down, which she did a few times. But as soon as I would move her she would start screaming again. So we quickly loaded up, still in pj's and headed off to get Brayden. My sweet mother-in-law met us as the pediatrician's office and took Brayden and Brooklyn to get some lunch since they were way hungry and ornery. The Dr. checked her out and luckily nothing was broken or dislocated. Unfotunately, she did sprain her shoulder. It was SO sad to see her hurting, but I was very relieved it wasn't anything serious. The Dr. basically said to be really gentle and let her start using her arm at her own pace. She slept the majority of the day, but when she was awake she wouldn't move her arm. It was really tricky to nurse her since she winced and cried every time we moved her. Here is how she spent 2 days. It's a good thing we had borrowed my sister-in-law's boppy 2 days earlier!
On the second day she started moving her arm a little bit, and by the 3rd day it was as if nothing had happened. She still winces on occassion, but she's back to her normal self.
12 years ago
5 comments:
So glad she is doing better and it was only a sprain. I'm surprised they did not do an X-ray? Those girls will have so much fun together when she's a little older!
oh my goodness that is so sad!!! Poor girl! I'm glad she is doing better and that it wasn't broken.
Oh poor little thing... hate it when things happen to such little babies. You feel so helpless! She is such a cutie and I'm glad she is doing better!
How sad!! It was so hard when Sadie had a sub-luxation (no idea how to spell that) and they had to pop it back in place! I am so glad that she is doing better.
How sad!! It was so sad when Sadie had a sub-lexation (i have no idea how to spell that) of her arm and they had to "pop" it back into place. I am glad that she is feeling better.
Post a Comment