Saturday, July 3, 2010

3rd of July

We didn't have much planned for the holiday weekend, so I started looking online for some fun things to do. We decided to sleep in and enjoy the morning. We went and visited Josh's grandma in the hospital, then stopped at the Ericson's for lunch and to pick up some sod. We then headed home for some good naps. After naptime we all got ready and headed down to Sandy City's parade. While everyone was sleeping I went and found a back way where we could park super close to the parade. Of course when we hopped in the car to go down there, a cop was sitting there blocking it off. He stopped us, but decided to let us go through anyway. So we got to park about 25 yards from the parade and found a sweet spot with the sun at our backs. Here's the kids before we left:

One of our last holidays as a family of 4:
Both kids LOVED the parade and sat through the entire thing. Here's Brayden waving at the floats:

Didn't take long to figure out that they throw candy. We had mostly adults around us so they let Brayden get ALL the candy thrown our way:
Waving the little flag he got:
I was surprised Brooklyn did so well. She loved the floats, but didn't like the loud cars and motorcycles as they passed by. Here she is waving to the princesses:
Getting candy. She was a little timid to run out and pick it up, so Brayden was very nice and always gave her some that he picked up:
With her American Flag:
This is how she spent about 50% of the parade. We had to continuously take her hands down and show her that the noise was gone, only to have it return minutes later. Everyone thought it was really cute:
After the parade we went to Litza's Pizza for dinner and visited with Josh's dad. We then headed back to Sandy, parked at our church, and walked to Jordan High School to watch the fireworks. The kids did ok, but not as well as when we are right under the fireworks like last year. But they loved throwing the snaps that I had brought and ran around and had fun:

3 comments:

Mitchell Family said...

Looks like you had a fun weekend! Your little girl sure is growing up... and SO cute!

Tuckers said...

Cute pics! Looks like a nice weekend. It was fun seeing you guys last night. Hopefully we will do it again soon.

Jamie said...

Great pictures Shantelle! I love the ones with Brooklyn covering her ears!