Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Halloween

Halloween turned out to be a beautiful day. We had a normal morning and put the kids down for early naps. We weren't sure how to do everything we had scheduled - Josh had a party downtown he had to stop in at (one of his clients) and I wanted to take the kids to my parent's ward that was having a carnival/trunk-or-treat. We ended up waking the kids up early and I took them to my parents. Josh stayed home to get ready and head off to his party. I called him at the end of the trunk-or-treat thinking he would've already been on his way, but he was just leaving. So he stopped at the freeway and we met him and headed downtown together. It turned out great! Here are the kids at the carnival with my dad. Brayden had a lot of fun doing the cake walk with my dad's help, throwing the beanbags, and tossing the rings on the pop bottles.

Brooklyn loved walking around looking at everyone. She had this somewhat confused face the entire time:Here's my parent's truck:
The kids were too distracted by all the candy to smile for the camera.
The party downtown was pretty random. One of Josh's restaurants was hosting it so he wanted to stop by to show his support. Since we don't drink, there wasn't much to do. Brayden's favorite part was watching the mariachi band and using a plate as a tambourine/drum. It was impossible to get the kids to look at the camera at the same time with so much going on, so the bottom two pictures are cute pics of them one at a time.
After the party we headed over to Josh's parent's house to go trick-or-treating. The kids
loved it.One last attempt to get the kids smiling and looking at the camera. Didn't work out so well. We thought if we gave them each a piece of candy they would smile and look up. Nope - almost every picture we took had their mouths full of candy, drool going everywhere. Oh well. This one is good enough:

3 comments:

Mitchell Family said...

Oh my heck, those costumes are soooo cute! OUr kids were spent at the end of the night too. So fun!

Kandice said...

Oh they are so cute Shantelle!!

Jamie said...

Sorry I am so behind Shantelle-I guess I have been lost in my own little world lately. It was fun to catch up though. The Halloween costumes were darling and that cute bow was the perfect touch for Brooklyn.
I also loved the little BYU outfits. So cute! It looks like you had fun in Vegas too. What a cute family you have!